Obtaining a License
Both parties to the marriage must appear in person before the registrar and apply for the license; however, they need not both appear at the same time. The license must be dated, signed and sworn to by each applicant.
You must bring a completed marriage license application which is completed when you come into Town Clerk's office along with required photo identification, preferably a driver's license with a photo and signature or a passport.
The entire process takes about 30 minutes, and there is no waiting period for obtaining the marriage license. Also, there are no blood tests required in Connecticut.
Validity of License
When a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 65 days. Anyone being married in Westbrook must obtain their marriage license in our Westbrook office.
The cost for a marriage license effective July 1, 2018 will be $50. Certified copies are recommended for name changes or insurance changes, and those are $20 each.
Finding a Justice of the Peace
Dog licenses are purchased through the Town Clerk's office.
Initial & Annual License Timeline
Every dog, except dogs kept under a kennel license as provided in 22 to 342 of the Connecticut General Statutes, must be licensed when it becomes six months old and then annually in June.
Licenses run from June 30 of current year to July 1st of next year. Licenses are issued by the Town Clerk's office.
These fees are broken down and most of the money is forwarded to the Animal Population Control fund. The state and town Clerk Fee is $1 per license.
|Female - Spayed||$8|
|Female - Unspayed||$19|
|Male - Neutered||$8|
|Male - Unaltered||$19|
A penalty of $1 per month or fraction of a month is charged when an owner fails to license a dog when it becomes six months old. However, no penalty is charged if an owner presents certain proof of new ownership.
Proof of rabies vaccination is required when registering new licenses. For renewals, if the rabies vaccination has expired, a new certificate and tag number must be provided at time of renewal.
Sport licenses and permits are available through the Town Clerk's office. Call the office at 860-399-3044 for more information.