Lower Connecticut River Valley Council of Governments

The Lower Connecticut River Valley Council Of Governments (RiverCOG ) has seventeen member towns including Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Lyme, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook.  Four of the member towns directly front Long Island Sound while twelve directly front the Connecticut River.  Three towns have no frontage on these water bodies but are connected to the region by the similar characteristics with the other RiverCOG towns.

The RiverCOG brings together local governments to coordinate land use and transportation planning on a regional basis. RiverCOG provides a forum to foster communication and collaboration among its member municipalities in identifying and addressing these and other regional issues.

Meetings are held at the offices of the Lower CT River Valley Council Of Governments on Tuesdays at 9:00 AM.

RiverCOG office Hours:  Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm.  

Physical Location:   In the historic 1787 Elisha Mather House located at 145 Dennison Road in the Centerbrook village section of Essex.  

Telephone:  (860) 581-8554

Email: info@rivercog.org

LCOG _map

Website:  Lower Connecticut River Valley Council Of Governments On The Web